Watford V Blackburn Match Preview.

20/04/2013 09:25

Watford play Blackburn Rovers today in the Npower Championship as the Hornets try to get back to winning ways after only winning one of the last 7 games. With Hull drawing 0-0 last night, The Hornets can go 4 points behind the tigers with two games remaining. However, if the Hornets draw or loose todays game, the the tigers are promoted. As well as this, a Watford win today will secure a play off spot. Blackburn currently lie in 19th position and it has been a turbulent season for the club. They have had three managers this season: Steve Kean (Resigned), Henning Berg (Sacked) and Michael Appleton (Sacked). Gary Bowyer is now the caretaker manager until the end of the season. During the match earlier in the season at Ewood Park, Blackburn secured a narrow 1-0 win thanks to Jordan Rhodes last minute goal. Rhodes will be Blackburn's danger man with the £8 million pound signing in the summer scoring 25 goals for the club this season and has been a rare shining star in what has been a poor season for Blackburn. Former Hornet Lee Williamson will be returning to Vicarage Road after the midfielder was signed by ex Manager Michael Appleton. Only 2 points above the relegation zone with three games to go, a second relegation is a possibility for a team that many pundits predicted would gould straight back up to the Premier League.

Team News

For Watford, Marco Cassetti returns from suspension and is expected to return to the side. Fitz Hall and John Eustace have returned to training but the game might come too soon for them. Nyron Nosworthy, Tommie Hoban and Neuton are all out.

Blakcburn are without Grant Hanley and Colin Kazim Richards as they serve the final game of a two match ban. Martin Olsson is also out with a ankle injury. Bradley Orr and David Bentley are available to play.

Predicted Team Lineups

Watford - Almunia (GK)(C), Doyley, Ekstrand, Cassetti, Anya, Battochio, Chalobah, Abdi, Pudil, Deeney, Forestieri.

Blackburn - Sandomierski (GK), Kane, Dann (C), Givet, Marcus Olsson, Lowe, Williamson, Jones, King, Rhodes, Best.

Referee - Nigel Miller.