Referees for next four games announced.

24/12/2013 12:15

The Football League and the FA have announced the referees for the next four games including the FA cup match away to Bristol City. For the Boxing Day match at Home to Milwall in the Sky Bet Championsip, the referee will be Essex official Andy Durso. Durso refereed the Hornets twice last season during the 3-2 away victory over Crystal Palace on the opening day of the season and the Hornets 2-1 win at Home to Leicester in November. This season, D'urso has refereed 16 games handing out 50 yellow cards and 4 red as well as 6 penalties

For the match against QPR at Vicarage Road on Sunday 29th December, the referee will be Premier League official Neil Swarbrick. Swarbrick refereecd the Hornets twice last season during the 2-0 win over Nottingham Forest in Decmeber and during the 1-0 defeat to Leicester City in the first leg of the play off semi final. Swarbrick has refereed 13 games this season handing out 39 yellow cards and 1 red as well as 1 penalty.

For the New Years Day match away to Yeovil Town which which will be televised on Sky Sports, the referee will be Nottinghamshire official James Adcock. Adcock has refereed the Hornets once this season which came in the 6-1 win over Bournemouth during August. This will be the Third time Adcock has refereed the Hornets during his refereeing career. Adcock has refereed 15 games this season ( 8 of which coming in the championship) and has handed out 51 yellow cards and 3 red as well as 4 penalties.

For the FA Cup match against Bristol City on Saturday 4th January 2014, the referee will be Lancashire official Paul Tierney. Tierney has already refereed the Hornets twice this season which came in the 1-0 win over Birmingham and the 2-2 draw against Middlesbrough. Tierney has refereed 15 games this season ( 7 of which being in the championship) and he has haned out 51 yellow cards and 7 red as well as 5 penalties.For the full appointments please see below:

Watford V Milwall

Refere - Andy D'urso

Linesman - Ian Crouch and Antony Coggins

Fourth Official - Darren Blunden


Watford V QPR

Referee - Neil Swarbrick

Linesman - John Flynn and Guy Stretton

Fourth Official - Charles Breakspear


Yeovil V Watford

Referee - James Adcock

Linesman - Marvyn Amphlett and Mark Howes

Fourth Official - Brendan Malone


Bristol City V Watford

Referee - Paul Tierney

Linesman - Keith Lawson and Kevin Johnson

Fourth Official - Adam Bromley.