Bristol Rovers V Watford Match Preview.

05/08/2013 11:29

Watford travel to the Memorial Stadium tommorow to play Bristol Rovers in the first round of the Capital One Cup. These two sides last met two seasons ago in the League Cup with Bristol Rovers beating Watford on penalites after the match finished 1-1 after extra time. Watford kicked off their championship season with a 1-0 win over Birmingham City at St Andrews on the opening day of the weeked. Whilst Bristol Rovers lost 2-1 to Exeter on the opening day of the League 2 season. Rovers are managed by ex Watford player John Ward. Hornets fans will also see a familiar name in the Bristol Rovers squad. That name is John Joe O-Toole. O-Toole came through the academy ranks at the Hornets before turning pro at the Hornets. He made 57 appearances for the Hornets scoring 10 goals. He joined Colecheter in 2010 after a succesful loan spell at the U's. After falling out of favour he joined Bristol Rovers on loan for the second half of the championship season before making the move permanant this summer. Watford will certainly not underestimate Bristol Rovers after loosing to them in the competition two seasons ago and being knocked out by league 2 side Bradford last season at Vicarage Road.

Team News

For Bristol Rovers, John Wards side are struggling with injuries at the moment. Key players Matt Harold and Matt Gills are doubts with Groin Strains which kept them out of the 2-1 defeat to Exeter.

For Watford, Ikechi Anya could be a doubt after limping off during the Hornets 1-0 win over Birmingham. Tommie Hoban and Nyron Nosworthy are out as they recover from long term injureis. Expect Gianfranco Zola to make some changes as he rests key players for this weekends Sky Bet Championship match against Bournemouth.

Predicted Team Lineups

Bristol Rovers - Mildenhall (GK), Smith, Parkes, McChrystal, Brown, Harrision, O-Toole, Norburn, Richards, Clarkson, Harding.

Watford - Bond (GK), Brown, Ekstrand, Doyley (C), Faraoni, Smith, Battochio, Murray, Pudil, Forestieri, Acuna.

Referee- Darren Sheldrake.